The house and its grounds are the site of the annual Goodwood Festival of Speed, whilst elsewhere on the estate the Goodwood Circuit motorsport track hosts the annual Goodwood Revival, and Goodwood Racecourse hosts "Glorious Goodwood" and a number of other (horse) race meetings. The estate also includes the Goodwood Golf Course and a cricket pitch, home to Goodwood Cricket Club.
The Monarch's Way long-distance footpath crosses the downs from west to east, passing immediately south of the racecourse.
Goodwood House was built circa 1600 and was acquired by Charles Lennox, 1st Duke of Richmond in 1697. A South wing was added by Matthew Brettingham and a North wing by James Wyatt. It may be that there was an intention to build the house in a unique octagonal layout, but only three of the eight sides were built and that intention has never been proved.
Charles Lennox, 3rd Duke of Richmond commissioned Sir William Chambers to design the stable block in 1757 and James Wyatt to design the Kennels, originally for use by the Duke's dogs but now used as a golf club house, in 1787. He also commissioned Goodwood Racecourse, which was established in 1802.
The Goodwood Golf Course was laid out in 1901. Chichester/Goodwood Airport, also on the estate, was built during World War II. Goodwood Circuit was laid out around the perimeter of the airfield by Frederick Gordon-Lennox, 9th Duke of Richmond in 1948.