Solar eclipse of September 11, 1988

An annular solar eclipse occurred on September 11, 1988. A solar eclipse occurs when the Moon passes between Earth and the Sun, thereby totally or partly obscuring the image of the Sun for a viewer on Earth. An annular solar eclipse occurs when the Moon's apparent diameter is smaller than the Sun's, blocking most of the Sun's light and causing the Sun to look like an annulus (ring). An annular eclipse appears as a partial eclipse over a region of the Earth thousands of kilometres wide. Annularity was visible in southeastern Somalia (including the capital city Mogadishu), the Indian Ocean and Macquarie Island of Australia.

Solar eclipse of September 11, 1988
SE1988Sep11A
Map
Type of eclipse
NatureAnnular
Gamma-0.4681
Magnitude0.9377
Maximum eclipse
Duration417 sec (6 m 57 s)
Coordinates20°00′S 94°24′E / 20°S 94.4°E
Max. width of band258 km (160 mi)
Times (UTC)
Greatest eclipse4:44:29
References
Saros144 (15 of 70)
Catalog # (SE5000)9483

Related eclipses

Solar eclipses of 1986-1989

This eclipse is a member of a semester series. An eclipse in a semester series of solar eclipses repeats approximately every 177 days and 4 hours (a semester) at alternating nodes of the Moon's orbit.[1]

Solar eclipse series sets from 1986-1989
Ascending node   Descending node
Saros Map Saros Map
119 SE1986Apr09P
April 9, 1986
Partial
124 SE1986Oct03H
October 3, 1986
Hybrid
129 SE1987Mar29H
March 29, 1987
Hybrid
134 SE1987Sep23A
September 23, 1987
Annular
139 SE1988Mar18T
March 18, 1988
Total
144 SE1988Sep11A
September 11, 1988
Annular
149 SE1989Mar07P
March 7, 1989
Partial
154 SE1989Aug31P
August 31, 1989
Partial

Notes

  1. ^ van Gent, R.H. "Solar- and Lunar-Eclipse Predictions from Antiquity to the Present". A Catalogue of Eclipse Cycles. Utrecht University. Retrieved 6 October 2018.

References

Solar eclipse of August 21, 2017

The solar eclipse of August 21, 2017, dubbed the "Great American Eclipse" by the media, was a total solar eclipse visible within a band that spanned the entire contiguous United States, passing from the Pacific to the Atlantic coasts. As a partial solar eclipse, it was visible on land from Nunavut in northern Canada to as far south as northern South America. In northwestern Europe and Africa, it was partially visible in the late evening. In Asia, it was visible only at the eastern extremity, the Chukchi Peninsula.

Prior to this event, no solar eclipse had been visible across the entire contiguous United States since June 8, 1918; not since the February 1979 eclipse had a total eclipse been visible from anywhere in the mainland United States. The path of totality touched 14 states, and the rest of the U.S. had a partial eclipse. The area of the path of totality was about 16 percent of the area of the United States, with most of this area over the ocean, not land. The event's shadow began to cover land on the Oregon coast as a partial eclipse at 4:05 p.m. UTC (9:05 a.m. PDT), with the total eclipse beginning there at 5:16 p.m. UTC (10:16 a.m. PDT); the total eclipse's land coverage ended along the South Carolina coast at about 6:44 p.m. UTC (2:44 p.m. EDT). Visibility as a partial eclipse in Honolulu, Hawaii began with sunrise at 4:20 p.m. UTC (6:20 a.m. HST) and ended by 5:25 p.m. UTC (7:25 a.m. HST).This total solar eclipse marked the first such event in the smartphone and social media era in America. Information, personal communication, and photography were widely available as never before, capturing popular attention and enhancing the social experience.

Marriage proposals took place coinciding with the eclipse, and at least one wedding was also planned and took place to coincide with the eclipse. Logistical problems were expected with the influx of visitors, especially for smaller communities. The sale of counterfeit eclipse glasses was also anticipated to be a hazard for eye injuries.Future total solar eclipses will cross the United States in April 2024 (12 states) and August 2045 (10 states), and annular solar eclipses—wherein the Moon appears smaller than the Sun—will occur in October 2023 (9 states) and June 2048 (9 states).

This page is based on a Wikipedia article written by authors (here).
Text is available under the CC BY-SA 3.0 license; additional terms may apply.
Images, videos and audio are available under their respective licenses.