King Creek is the old name for what is now known as the East Humber River. Originally a small community called "Humber Trails" nestled in the valley around the King Creek west of The Mill Road. After hurricane Hazel, in the fall of 1954, the Toronto Regional Park Authority expropriated the land creating the Humber Trails Conservation area. One street named Elmpine Trails, on the south side of the King Creek, was not expropriated as the homes were on high ground with no chance of a flood damaging the houses. Several properties on the Mill Road were also not expropriated for the same reason. For approximately fifteen years the Humber Trails Conservation Area was a manicured Park. However a decision was made to allow the park to become a nature preserve. Today there are few signs that streets and homes and later, a manicured park had existed in the valley, except for a few walking paths and a Humber Trails post office structure that was assimilated into the buildings of a private residence and working farm located on either side of Mill Road. King Township, Ontario, Canada.The area is located immediately east of Nobleton. To the east is King City.
|• Township mayor||Steve Pellegrini|
|• MP||Deb Schulte|
|• MPP||Helena Jaczek|
|• Councillor||Peter Grandilli (Ward 2)|
|Time zone||UTC-5 (EST)|
|• Summer (DST)||UTC-4 (EDT)|
|Forward sortation area||L0G|
|Area code(s)||905 and 289|
The Humber Trails Forest and Wildlife Area is a protected park in King Township. A tributary to the Humber River (Ontario), the East Humber River, formerly The King Creek passes through this park.
The King Creek Marsh is a provincially significant wetland, wholly marshes, primarily composed of submergent vegetation and narrow-leaved emergents. It rests upon a 41,800 square metre palustrine site of clay, loam and silt.
Residents vote in Ward 2 in King Township municipal elections.