1939 in literature

This article presents lists of the literary events and publications in 1939.

List of years in literature (table)
In poetry
1936
1937
1938
1939
1940
1941
1942

Events

bababadalgharaghtakamminarronnkonnbronntonnerronntuonnthunntrovarrhounawnskawntoohoohoordenenthurnuk!

—From Finnegans Wake

Joyce wake

New books

Fiction

Children and young people

Drama

Poetry

Non-fiction

Births

Deaths

Awards

In fiction

References

  1. ^ "History". The Kenyon Review. Archived from the original on 2008-12-30. Retrieved 2007-01-26.
  2. ^ Howarth, Herbert (Spring 1959). "T. S. Eliot's Criterion: The Editor and His Contributors". Comparative Literature. 11 (2): 97–110. doi:10.2307/1768640. JSTOR 1768640.
  3. ^ King, Steve. "Chandler, Marlowe, The Big Sleep". Today in Literature. Retrieved 2015-10-21.
  4. ^ Montefiore, Simon Sebag (2007). Young Stalin. London: Phoenix. p. 100. ISBN 978-1-4072-2145-8.
  5. ^ Daniel, Paul (1978). "Destinul unui poet". In Fondane, Benjamin. Poezii. Bucharest: Editura Minerva. pp. 633–635. OCLC 252065138.
  6. ^ Lawson, Mark (2014-11-01). "The daddy of Broadway". The Guardian. London. p. 18 (Review).
  7. ^ Cox, Michael, ed. (2004). The Concise Oxford Chronology of English Literature. Oxford University Press. ISBN 978-0-19-860634-5.
1929 in poetry

Nationality words link to articles with information on the nation's poetry or literature (for instance, Irish or France).

1939 in Australian literature

This article presents a list of the historical events and publications of Australian literature during 1939.

For an overview of world literature see 1939 in literature.

See also:

1938 in Australian literature,

1939 in Australia,

1940 in Australian literature.

1939 in New Zealand

The following lists events that happened during 1939 in New Zealand.

Beware of Pity (novel)

Beware of Pity (German: Ungeduld des Herzens, literally The Heart's Impatience) is a 1939 novel by the Austrian writer Stefan Zweig. It was Zweig's longest work of fiction. It was adapted into a 1946 film of the same title, directed by Maurice Elvey.

Coup de Grâce (novel)

Coup de Grâce (French: Le Coup de grâce) is a 1939 novel in French by Marguerite Yourcenar. The narrative is a triangle drama set in the Baltics during the Russian Civil War (1917-1922).

It was adapted into the 1976 film Coup de Grâce, directed by Volker Schlöndorff.

List of years in literature

This page gives a chronological list of years in literature (descending order), with notable publications listed with their respective years and a small selection of notable events. The time covered in individual years covers Renaissance, Baroque and Modern literature, while Medieval literature is resolved by century.

Note: List of years in poetry exists specifically for poetry.

See Table of years in literature for an overview of all "year in literature" pages.

Possessed (novel)

Possessed (Polish: Opętani) is a 1939 novel by the Polish writer Witold Gombrowicz, published under the pseudonym Zdisław Niewieski. It is a pastiche of gothic and serial novels in the vein of Horace Walpole and Eugène Sue.

The Legend of the Holy Drinker

The Legend of the Holy Drinker (German: Die Legende vom heiligen Trinker) is a 1939 novella by Austrian writer Joseph Roth, published posthumously by Allert de Lange Verlag in Amsterdam. It tells the story of a homeless alcoholic, Andreas, who wants to return money he has borrowed, but fails because he spends all of his money on alcohol.

This page is based on a Wikipedia article written by authors (here).
Text is available under the CC BY-SA 3.0 license; additional terms may apply.
Images, videos and audio are available under their respective licenses.